Learn More About the Chakras: The 7th Chakra

February 28, 2014

The information in this article is the seventh in a series of seven articles relating to the subtle energy body called the Chakras. For the other six articles, please see Chakra 1, Chakra 2, Chakra 3, Chakra 4, Chakra 5, and Chakra 6.

The 7th Chakra is also known as Sahasrara, Sanskrit for “thousandfold”; and the Crown Chakra. It represents higher consciousness and higher awareness which is the underlying principle of all the Chakras. It is the seat of enlightenment. Using a computer analogy from Anodea Judith, in her book Chakra Balancing, it is the operating system of all the other Chakras. It is what reads all the other programs (Chakras), and organizes the information in a way that the other Chakras, and the user (you) can use. It is represented by the color white or violet. It governs the pituitary gland which, although physically lower in the body, is the “master gland” which controls all other glands, total body intelligence (the ability of the body to improve), and spiritual consciousness of the human.

Excessive or deficient energy in this Chakra can show up as:

  • Migraines
  • Depression
  • A tendency to overthink or overanalyze things
  • Hormone imbalances
  • Pituitary tumors
  • Pituitary disorders

Attachment is what inhibits the 7th Chakra to fully awaken and they must be willing to let go of our preconceived notions of ‘how it should be’, our attachments to people, places, and things, as well as attachments to beliefs and ideals and what we “need” or want, and we must awaken to the fact that our reality is only our perception, created by us. We must transcend the realm of duality, of separateness, and realize that everything is connected; everything is part of a whole; like the two sides of a coin, it is one coin.

A great way to identify your attachments is to look at each area of your life where you could have an attachment.


  • People
  • Places
  • Things
  • Your home
  • Your car
  • Money
  • Power
  • Control
  • Looks
  • Appearances (socially)
  • Pleasure
  • Being “right”
  • Age
  • Freedom
  • Success
  • Family (spouse, children, grandchildren, etc.)
  • Friendships
  • The past
  • The future
  • Religion
  • What others think of you
  • Having all the answers
  • Ability (physical, mental capabilities or handicaps)
  • Being loved or wanted or needed
  • Social Status
  • Ideals
  • Beliefs
  • Standards
  • Extremes

Breaking your attachment to these things is what allows the 7th Chakra to fully awaken and merge into your higher consciousness, spiritual understanding and connection, or enlightenment.

Extremism to this Chakra is also a detrimental process. Taking any of the attachments to an extreme belief also sets another imbalance into place. For instance, if you were to say, “I shouldn’t have attachments to people, so I must go live alone on a mountain and be a hermit”, you would be taking the detachment process to an extreme. It is more of a mental state, so using the same example, “I should not have attachments to people, and I recognize sadness will occur when a person whom I love is no longer a part of my life, but I am no longer plagued, overwhelmed, or controlled by the loss or the sadness, or the idea of losing that person.” This even ties into past and future attachments.

Removing attachments to your beliefs is also a very important thing to release the Crown Chakra’s higher consciousness. Ask yourself if something you believe is true is really true. Is there evidence? How do I know? Don’t be fooled by the trap of believing something just because it’s what you’ve always believed. And sometimes, our eyes deceive us as well. Examine it deeply.

Opening your Crown Chakra can be done by first setting an awareness into place. Awareness of everything. What is your awareness when you speak to a person, as well as notice your body language. Being aware of your inner thoughts, judgments, perceptions, preconceived notions, and ideas is another great place to start. With awareness comes the possibility of change. Change, acceptance, love, transcendence can only stem from first having an awareness of what is currently present.

One way to connect with higher consciousness is to meditate without thought. In this process much may come up, but letting go of the commentary, the judgments, and beliefs around what comes up is what begins the process of detachment.

A word of warning: To detach so much so that you are complacent to everything is also a trap that can inhibit the opening of the 7th Chakra.

To help the opening, begin practicing yoga, quiet meditation, mantra meditation, or breath awareness; as well as practicing gratitude for everything, and begin to notice what’s present, notice the beauty, notice the love, notice how you BE in the world, and notice how you BE in yourself.

From everything, both positive and negative, there is a learning experience to be had; a chance to open your self to higher consciousness a little more and letting the ego fall away. Let go of your attachment to whatever is happening, and just experience it, be with it, learn from it, and be in gratitude for it. You will find that through practice, you will be happier and live in a more blissful state of mind without the tumult that has been present in our minds, our bodies, and our spirits since the dawn of humanity.


Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

© 2010 - 2013 Giovanna Mealer All Rights Reserved.